Wednesday, November 3, 2021

VA - Age Of Worry, From Country-Pop To Freak-Folk The Space Age Relics Of Monument Records 1960-1970 [2017]


VA - Age Of Worry,  From Country-Pop To Freak-Folk The Space Age Relics Of Monument Records 1960-1970 [2017]

Smooth countrypolitan tones of doom, apocalyptic shag-cowpokes, anti-Vietnam war freak-folks, small-town hayseed-vignettes, ambulance-chasing bluegrass, red-baiting exploitation-jangle-folk-pop and wigged-out Nashville space-age instrumentals - you'll hear all that and much more on this extraordinary disc. Charting the tumultuous decade of 1960-1970, 'Age Of Worry' presents 28 somewhat nervous and seldom-heard oddities/obscurities from the depths of the Monument Records vaults. Sometimes outrageous, sometimes sublime - listen to Dave Rich lament the maudlin fate of 'The Runt', Rusty Draper on tortured suburban ennui and Captain Ty Herrington on emasculated masculinity. Something for everyone. *Reissued for the very first time: From Country-Pop to Freak-Folk: The Space Age Relics Of Monument Records 1960-1970!*Exclusive scholarly liner notes by Alvin Lucia!*Full Dynamic Range 2017 Remaster direct from the first generation analogue master tapes! (Amazon)

Spellbinding CD of Country Pop, Bluegrass, Folk and Novelty sides all touched in one way or another by Cold War tensions and changing tides of 1960's society. Brilliant sound quality and great booklet places in the whole thing in context. Doubt you would see 99% of these cuts anywhere else and there are some truly great (and unknown) songs hidden in there. Essential. 



Track lists

01 Billy Walker Age of Worry 2:08

02 Durwood Haddock I'm Gonna Quit Thinking 1:57

03 Billy Graves The Lonesome Ape 2:26

04 Dusty Draper Every Man Has a Prison 3:09

05 Durwood Haddock Mac the Merchant 2:45

06 Carl Vaughn Love Thy Neighbour 2:34

07 Ray Corbin Life Doesn't Move Me 2:30

08 Tex Williams The Night Miss Nancy Ann's Hotel for Single Girls Burned Down 3:17

09 Freddie Hart and the Heartbeats That Almighty Dollar 2:09

10 Ray Corbin In My City 2:31

11 Dave Rich The Runt 3:07

12 Jim Mann Apology at Bedtime (My Little Boy) 4:00

13 Vern Stovall Code Alarm 7 2:48

14 Ray Corbin Absence 2:36

15 Orville Couch Permanent Wave 2:01

16 Larry Collins Outcast 2:45

17 Chris Gantry Allegheny 3:29

18 Kenny Jones Is This the Way of the Free 2:41

19 Arthur B. Hancock Iii What of Tomorrow 2:39

20 Kenny Jones Tale of a Wooden War 2:14

21 Bobby Bridger Net of Fireflies 2:49

22 Paul Clayton Life is a Toil 2:31

23 Charades Left Wing Birds 3:02

24 Don Reno (My Mammy's Miss America) My Daddy's Uncle Sam 2:44

25 Grandpa Jones & His Grandchildren The Ladies Man 2:14

26 Jimmy Driftwood What is the Color of a Soul of Man 2:55

27 Capt. Ty Herrington (Us Special Forces Green Berets) - a Gun Don't Make a Man 2:22

28 Navigators Space Coup 2:05




  1. Thanks for this - the odd musical extremes of the 1960s are always interesting and revealing. This album is pretty hard to find at sensible prices these days, so thanks again!

    1. Hi cgm,
      Glad you like it.
      I like the obscure and weird.


  2. This a fantastic collection! I wasn't familiar with the vast majority of artists, or the label for that matter...but the songs are top notch 60s-70s Countrypolitan. I've been playing this non-stop!

    1. Hi Tribe,
      I know. Its a revelation and a great album
      One of those are the moments when we all get excited at new music.