Sunday, April 3, 2022

VA - Femme Fatale, History of Women in Popular Music [1997] (3 x CD's)


VA - Femme Fatale, History of Women in Popular Music [1997] (3 x CD's)

The Femme Fatale: History of Women in Pop box set collects a wide array of female artists, from divas like Nina Simone to punks like the Slits. Billie Holliday's "Strange Fruit," Mama Cass' "California Dreamin," Nico's "Femme Fatale," and other well-known jazz, pop, and rock tracks are mixed with more obscure songs, such as Twinkle's "Terry," Brix Smith's "Orangania," the Au Pairs' "America," and Lydia Lunch's "Some Velvet Morning." Sandie Shaw, Carole King, Rose Royce, Bel Canto, Danielle Dax, and Michelle Shocked are some of the other women represented on this three-disc set, which ranges from sweet to shocking forms of female expression. (Amazon)



Track lists


01 Everything But the Girl On My Mind 3:05

02 Slits I Heard it Through the Grapevine 3:19

03 Sidi Bou Said Ode to Drink 3:28

04 Emma Ridley Schools Out 3:45

05 Dust G Minor 5:22

06 Nina Simone My Baby Just Cares for Me 3:37

07 Cass Elliot California Dreamin' 2:28

08 Prolapse Chill Blown 8:10

09 I.V. Webb My Lover's Tie 4:37

10 Bel Canto Shimmering, Warm and Bright 3:15

11 !Action Pact! Cocktail Credibility 3:30

12 Caroline Mackendrick Oh God I Don't Believe This 3:41

13 Marnie Unburdened 4:27

14 Nico Janitor of Lunacy 4:27

15 Carole King It May as Well Rain Until September 2:25

16 Michelle Shocked 5am in Amsterdam 2:13


01 Brix Smith Oringina 4:23

02 Lucy Cotter No Mans Land 3:36

03 Au Pairs America 4:56

04 June Tabor All Our Trades 5:00

05 Poison Girls Persons Unknown 7:15

06 Michelle Shocked The Secret To A Long Life (Is Knowing When It's Time To Go) 2:20

07 Rita Lynch Call Me Your Girlfriend 4:56

08 Julie Dennis Evening Breeze 4:57

09 Pp Arnold Angel of the Morning 3:12

10 Alice McLaughlin Walking With the Moon 3:36

11 Sandie Shaw Girl Don't Come 2:10

12 Chloe Le Fay Red Or Dead 3:29

13 Beki Bondage Coming for You 3:15

14 Die Lady Di House of Come 3:58

15 Christine Collister Starting All Over 3:57

16 Family Fodder Debbie Harry 3:07

17 Marianne Faithfull Lady Madelaine 4:20


01 Nico Femme Fatale 3:18

02 Jane It's a Fine Day 2:47

03 Twinkle Terry 3:04

04 Chumbawamba Behave 4:13

05 Morgans Teenie Dementia 3:06

06 Scarehead Ha Ha 3:29

07 Tracey Thorn Plain Sailing 1:57

08 The Gymslips 48 Crash 3:17

09 Joolz War of Attrition 6:41

10 Pauline Murray Free Money 3:31

11 Poly Styrene Trick of the Witch 4:05

12 Patti Palladin Alligator Wine 3:42

13 Caroline Trettine Guilty 2:42

14 Billie Holiday Strange Fruit 3:09

15 Luce Drayton Dreamer 4:03

16 Danielle Dax White Knuckle Ride 2:51

17 Lydia Lunch Some Velvet Morning 4:23




  1. Many thanks Butterboy for sharing this great compilation.....many I havn't heard before. As always it is very much appreciated all the time and hard work that goes into your wonderful blog.....Love & Peace....Stu

    1. Thank you Stu,
      Enjoy the music, always.


  2. Hi Butterboy,
    This comp as attracted my attention from the first moment I read the title. Thanks for another brilliant sharing.

    1. Thanks Il Commendatore.
      There is is a lot of great tunes here.


  3. Nice music but the album covers are in very bad taste.

    1. Hi lemonflag,
      I agree, Not sure why the artwork is so tacky.
      There are many great sets with dubious artwork, at least it gets us talking.