Monday, February 6, 2023

VA - Killed by John Peel Vol. 01 (Vatican Radio Records, Unofficial Release) [2020]



VA - Killed by John Peel Vol. 01 (Vatican Radio Records, Unofficial Release) [2020]

Focusing on the less known side of the huge Peel Sessions catalog, Killed By John Peel comes stuffed to the rafters with mind blowing and little known gems from the opening track with French Synth Punk pioneers Metal Urbain and the incendiary recording of their hit "e-202" to the closing with the kick ass Power Pop Punk hit "She's Alarming" by the Wasps, each and every single track on this monster of a record presents a band at their prime giving it all at the legendary BBC Radio 1 studios."

From the amazingly rich vaults of John Peel's BBC 1 Radio session recordings, comes one of the best punk rock compilations we've heard in a long while. Absolutely essential! (Amazon)



Track list

01 Metal Urbain E-202 3:25

02 Outcasts Gangland Warfare 2:52

03 King Antipope 3:51

04 Rudi Yummy Yummy 2:26

05 Idiot Dancers Jealousy 2:39

06 Cortinas Further Education 2:41

07 Alternative Tv Going Round In Circles 1:17

08 Skids Open Sound 1:49

09 Scars She's Alive 2:46

10 The Lurkers Countdown 1:34

11 Flys Energy Boy 2:36

12 Funboy Five Haircut Bob Dylan 2:07

13 Pragvec Bits 1:34

14 Wasps She's Alarming 2:39




  1. Are there more of these?
    This is listed as Vol. 1, which I actually have, but I have seen no others!


    1. Hi Stephen.
      I believe there is a volume 2. I don't have it.

  2. Replies
    1. Hi simonthecat,
      Krakenfiles is down at the moment.
      Please try again later.