Wednesday, December 8, 2021

VA - Caught Beneath The Landslide [2021] (4 x CD's)


VA - Caught Beneath the Landslide [2021] (4 x CD's)

For more than a decade Kevin Cummins was chief photographer at the NME - the world's biggest selling rock weekly - where his award-winning pictures were a major contributing factor in the rise of the Post-Punk and Madchester. It also meant he was and in a prime location to witness and participate in the musical and cultural phenomenon in the first half of the ‘90s, that was variously tagged Britpop or Cool Britannia. In 2020 Cassell Illustrated published his book ‘While We Were Getting High: Britpop and the 90's, a collection of Kevin’s breath-taking photographs that captured an extraordinary moment in Pop music history. Rough Trade Shops included it in their Book of the Year list, while GQ magazine effused, “To flip through the book is to be immersed back in the glory days of Cool Britannia… and it’s just as cool as you remember.”  Now Kevin has compiled ‘Caught Beneath The Landslide: The Other Side of Britpop and the 90's, a companion collection to his book on 71 track 4CD set. It brings together artists that topped the chart and set the agenda, some who were lauded one week and laughed at the next, and others who were just along for the ride. From an era of Lad’s mags and Girl Power, “football’s coming home” and chart battles making news headlines, it brings together Oasis and Blur, Pulp and Supergrass, Sleeper and Suede, Elastica and Echobelly, Gene and Menswear, and many more.

Kevin Cummins: “It was always my ambition to have a companion album to the book, a chance to enjoy the music of that era, music as timeless as the images. When I was selecting photos for my book, I took to Twitter to ask fans if certain bands could be considered part of the genre. Several musicians joined in to deny they were ever part of Britpop. The Manics were never considered part of the genre, nor Primal Scream, and much as I would have like to include them, I chose not to. So, it pleases me that we can feature both bands and many more in this collection, with its broader take on Indie music in 90's Britain.  (Amazon)






Track lists


01 Blur Young & Lovely 5:03

02 Suede He's Dead 5:14

03 Huggy Bear Her Jazz 2:55

04 Cornershop England's Dreaming 3:35

05 Fall Lost In Music 3:51

06 New Order Regret (New Order Mix) 5:12

07 James Sometimes 5:11

08 Elastica Pussycat 2:42

09 Auteurs Lenny Valentino 2:15

10 Saint Etienne Pale Movie (Lemonetry mix) 4:06

11 Inspiral Carpets Feat. Mark E. Smith I Want You 3:10

12 Terrorvision The Model 3:00

13 S*M*A*S*H Barrabas (Piloted) 2:59

14 Shed Seven Dolphin 3:40

15 Catatonia Whale 2:56

16 Echobelly Today Tomorrow Sometime Never (Live, Wetlands, New York) 3:31

17 Gebe Be My Light, Be My Guide 4:04

18 Manic Street Preachers The Drowners (live) 3:10


01 Primal Scream Jailbird [Dust Brothers Remix] 5:40

02 Paul Weller Vs. Portishead Wild Wood [Sheared Wood Remix] 3:29

03 Radiohead Planet Telex [Hexidecimal Mix] 6:46

04 Cardigans The Boys Are Back in Town 4:02

05 Menswear I'll Manage Somehow 2:32

06 Powder 20th Century Gods 2:52

07 Lightning Seeds Lucifer Sam 3:05

08 Pulp Razzmatazz [Acoustic Version] 4:05

09 Duffy London Girls 3:17

10 Cast Finetime 3:07

11 Heavy Stereo Sleep Freak 4:12

12 Supergrass Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Was In) 2:45

13 Feeder Rush [Live At The Splash Club, London - 2 Jul 1994] 3:48

14 Audioweb Sleeper [Sleepless In Balham Mix] 4:59

15 Northern Uproar Rollercoaster 3:47

16 Wannadies Lee Remick 2:56

17 Kula Shaker Tattva [Lucky 13 Mix] 3:58


01 Marion Let's All Go Together (Slide Mix) 3:22

02 Dodgy Grateful Moon 3:29

03 Ride Black Nite Crash 2:33

04 Fluffy Husband 2:11

05 Lush Ciao! 3:30

06 Electrafixion Sister Pain (Acoustic) 4:14

07 Out Of My Hair Safe Boy 3:50

08 Spacehog In The Meantime 4:59

09 Space Neighbourhood 3:29

10 Whipping Boy Fiction (Live, The Furnace, Dublin) 3:26

11 Plastic Fantastic Complimentary Electron 3:01

12 Longpigs On and On 4:12

13 Dubstar Elevator Song 2:56

14 Jocasta The Land Of Do As You Please 4:11

15 Sleeper Atomic 5:10

16 Ash Does Your Mother Know 3:02

17 Ocean Colour Scene Travellers Tune (Original Version) 3:44

18 Supernaturals Smile 3:43


01 Super Furry Animals Something 4 The Weekend [Rockfield Version] 2:33

02 Silver Sun There Will Never Be Another Me 2:21

03 Boo Radleys What's In The Box (See Whatcha Got) 3:29

04 Bluetones Marblehead Johnson 3:22

05 Charlatans Two Of Us 4:07

06 Me Me Me Hanging Around 2:27

07 Shampoo Cars 2:53

08 Babybird Your Gorgeous Too 3:30

09 Salad I Want You 2:31

10 Bis Wee Love 1:23

11 Kenickie In Your Car 3:47

12 Speedy Boy Wonder 3:03

13 Reef Yer Old [Young Version] 3:22

14 Electronic All That I Need 4:17

15 60 Ft. Dolls Pretty Horses 2:45

16 These Animal Men Wichita Lineman 4:24

17 Aloof One Night Stand 4:46

18 Oasis Champagne Supernova [Brendan Lynch Mix] 6:54




    ALT-COUNTRY ROUND-UP Volume 1 & 2, (A Butterboy Compilation) ?

    1. Hi Stefano,
      Not sure why your request is attached to this post but it will be done later today.


    2. Thanks. Posted here because I couldn’t find the way to post on that page

  2. Thanks Butterboy, looking forward to having a listen

    1. Hi Masters 6672.
      So many great tracks to enjoy.


  3. Replies
    1. Hi StoneRose,
      I Know, I know.... at least they show up in other comps I have posted.
      Please don't despair .


  4. ahh superb, loving this ! many thanks Butterboy, my 2 weeks off from work at Christmas will be listening to more of your awesome uploads, this is a fane collection

    1. Hi Moderator,
      Music here will certainly lift the spirits. Enjoy these and others you have picked up.


  5. Hi, can you reupload this one please ?

    1. Hi Mark I.
      New links established, tested and working.