Saturday, December 18, 2021

VA - Smiths Chart Busters (Lyntone LYN 3142-3157 UK) (2022 Remastered Expanded Edition by K.) [1975]


VA - Smiths Chart Busters (Lyntone LYN 3142-3157 UK) (2022 Remastered Expanded Edition by K.) [1975]

Here is a special CD length sample compiled by K. 

A special promotion by Smiths Crisps in the UK in 1975. You had to save up 20 tokens from packets of Smiths Crisps, Chipsticks, Quavers, Chipitos, Smokees or Twists in order to send off and choose one of eight flexi-discs available. All flexi-discs came in a plain white sleeve inside a 7" gate-fold picture sleeve all with the same picture cover.. The artists to choose from were: Bay City Rollers, Gary Glitter, The Glitter Band, Showaddywaddy, Sweet Sensation, Rubettes, The Stylistics, Status Quo and Slade. Smith's Crisps flexidisc were in tri-fold sleeve.

All 16 tracks are included here, plus for this special 2022 remaster, a further 6 bonus tracks have been added by some of the same artists released around the same time, and were all big hits in 1974 and 1975. This now 22 track collection has a CD running time of 77:58. (K.)

Happy Holidays all...



Track lists


01 Bay City Rollers Bye Bye Baby 2:51

02 Gary Glitter Love Like You and Me 3:18

03 Glitter Band The Tears I Cried 3:40

04 Showaddywaddy Rock 'n' Roll Lady 3:27

05 Sweet Sensation Sad Sweet Dreamer 3:22

06 Rubettes Sugar Baby Love 3:31

07 Stylistics Let's Put It All Together 3:26

08 Status Quo Down Down (Original 1974 7" Single Edit) 3:51

09 Slade Far Far Away 3:37

10 Bay City Rollers All of Me Loves All of You 3:06

11 Gary Glitter Oh Yes! You're Beautiful 3:53

12 Glitter Band Just for You 3:07

13 Rubettes Foe-Dee-Oh-Dee 3:02

14 Stylistics Sing Baby Sing 2:51

15 Status Quo Break the Rules 3:40

16 Slade Thanks for the Memory (Wham Bam Thank You Mam) 4:33

17 Bay City Rollers Give a Little Love (Original 1975 UK 7" Single Version) (Bonus Track) 3:30

18 Glitter Band Let's Get Together Again (Bonus Track) 3:59

19 Showaddywaddy Hey Rock and Roll (Bonus Track) 3:23

20 Sweet Sensation Purely by Coincidence (Bonus Track) 2:53

21 Rubettes Juke Box Jive (Bonus Track) 3:03

22 Slade How Does It Feel? (Bonus Track) 5:55




  1. Oh, my . . . Although I moved to the United States in 1976,
    I would have been 15 years old and still living in England
    at the time of that promotional campaign (which I must not,
    however, have noticed in the first place). Thank you very much
    for the sampler. It's certainly ringing some bells for me!

    1. Hi Crab Devil,
      If it wasn't for K. this would have slipped through the cracks for me. Enjoy!.


  2. Not the grooviest record put out by Smiths's Crisps...but thx anyway

  3. How awesome. I didn't know this existed. Thanks again for all you do for all of us.

    1. Hi heartofstone,
      It Christmas time lots of great stuff to share.