Tuesday, May 2, 2023

King Crimson - Radical Action To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind [2016] (3 x CDs)


King Crimson - Radical Action To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind [2016] (3 x CDs)

British progressive rock band King Crimson is one of the most influential and groundbreaking progressive rock bands of all time. With their constantly evolving sound and uncompromising approach to music-making, they have carved out a unique place in the history of rock music. Their live shows are legendary, and the band has released numerous live albums throughout their career. "Radical Action To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind," released in 2016, is one of their most impressive and ambitious live recordings to date.

One of the most striking aspects of this album is the way in which the tracks have been compiled. Instead of presenting the concert as a straight setlist, the band has edited together performances of individual songs from different nights. This creates a unique listening experience that captures the spirit of the band's live shows. It also showcases the band's willingness to take risks and push boundaries in their live performances.

The album opens with a blistering version of "Larks' Tongues in Aspic Part One," which immediately sets the tone for the rest of the album. The band's playing is tight and focused, with guitarist Robert Fripp and drummer Pat Mastelotto particularly standing out. The rhythm section is anchored by bassist Tony Levin and drummer Gavin Harrison, who provide a solid foundation for the band's complex arrangements. The energy and intensity of the band's performance is palpable, and it's easy to get lost in the music.

From there, the band delivers powerful versions of classic tracks such as "Red," "Starless," and "Epitaph," as well as newer material such as "Meltdown" and "Radical Action II." The musicianship on display throughout the album is nothing short of stunning. The band's ability to blend intricate melodies and complex rhythms is unparalleled, and their attention to detail is remarkable. Each song is executed with precision and passion, and the band's live performances bring out the best in their music.

Another noteworthy aspect of the album is the quality of the recording. The sound is clear and crisp, capturing the intricacies of the band's playing without sacrificing the raw energy of their live performances. The mix is well-balanced, with each instrument and voice occupying its own space in the soundstage. The album was recorded during the band's 2015 tours of North and South America, and the production team did an excellent job of capturing the band's live sound in a studio environment.

Overall, "Radical Action To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind" is a fantastic live album that captures the spirit and energy of King Crimson's live shows. It's a must-have for fans of the band, as well as for anyone interested in the evolution of progressive rock music. The album showcases the band's ability to take risks and push boundaries, and it highlights their unique approach to music-making. It's a testament to the enduring legacy of King Crimson and their status as one of the greatest progressive rock bands of all time. (B)






Track lists


01 King Crimson - Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part One 10:32

02 King Crimson - Radical Action (To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind) 3:37

03 King Crimson - Meltdown 4:18

04 King Crimson - Radical Action Ii 2:23

05 King Crimson - Level Five 6:43

06 King Crimson - The Light Of Day 5:45

07 King Crimson - The Hell Hounds Of Krim 3:32

08 King Crimson - The Construkction Of Light 6:20

09 King Crimson - The Talking Drum 3:45

10 King Crimson - Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part Two 6:39


01 King Crimson - Peace 2:01

02 King Crimson - Pictures Of A City 8:10

03 King Crimson - Banshee Legs Bell Hassle 1:33

04 King Crimson - Easy Money 8:19

05 King Crimson - Vrooom 4:49

06 King Crimson - Suitable Grounds For The Blues 4:44

07 King Crimson - Interlude 2:16

08 King Crimson - The Letters 6:24

09 King Crimson - Sailor's Tale 6:34

10 King Crimson - A Scarcity Of Miracles 6:50


01 King Crimson - Red 6:24

02 King Crimson - One More Red Nightmare 5:57

03 King Crimson - Epitaph 8:37

04 King Crimson - Starless 12:11

05 King Crimson - Devil Dogs Of Tessellation Row 2:54

06 King Crimson - The Court Of The Crimson King 6:53

07 King Crimson - 21st Century Schizoid Man 10:53




  1. Hi Butterboy, Just downloaded you bill bruford boxset and enjoyed it immensely, especially the first couple of CDs. This King Crimson set looks like a perfect follow-up. Any chance of a re-up? Hope you don't think I'm too greedy.

    1. Hi Mr Gaggles,
      New links established, tested and working.