Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Donny Hathaway - Someday We'll All Be Free [2010] (4xCD's)

Previously posted April 29, 2019

Donny Hathaway - Someday We'll All Be Free [2010] (4xCD's)

Donny Edward Hathaway (October 1, 1945 – January 13, 1979) was an American soul singer, keyboardist, songwriter, backing vocalist, and arranger who Rolling Stone described as a "soul legend". His most popular songs include "The Ghetto", "This Christmas", "Someday We'll All Be Free", and "Little Ghetto Boy". Hathaway is also renowned for his renditions of "A Song for You", "For All We Know", and "I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know", along with "Where Is the Love" and "The Closer I Get to You", two of many collaborations with Roberta Flack. He has been inducted into the St. Louis Walk of Fame and won one Grammy Award from four nominations. Hathaway was also posthumously honored with a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2019. utch director David Kleijwegt made a documentary called Mister Soul – A Story About Donny Hathaway, which premiered at the International Film Festival Rotterdam on January 28, 2020.

This 2010 four CD box set of digitally remastered recordings from the Soul legend spotlighting his influential solo years with Atlantic, 1970-73. This box contains the complete albums Everything Is Everything (1970), Donny Hathaway (1971), Live (1972), Extension of a Man (1973), and in Performance (released posthumously in 1980) plus, seven unreleased tracks. (Rhino)

Donny Hathaway fans have been waiting for something like this since Donny was here. I just finished listening to 3 of the CD's and I am in tears. Being a soul music devotee since the 60's, I have always had a sneaking suspicion that this divine artist is the greatest soul-singer/keyboardist/writer/arranger of all time. With deep bows to the other members of the holy trinity ... Stevie and Marvin, Donny ascends above them. Of this I am now certain and listening to this collection seals the deal in my heart and mind. It is evidence how Stevie borrowed much from Donny Hathaway. (Amazon)






Track Lists

01 Donny Hathaway - Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything) 3:26
02 Donny Hathaway - Je Vous Aime (I Love You) 3:29
03 Donny Hathaway - I Believe To My Soul 3:48
04 Donny Hathaway - Misty 3:35
05 Donny Hathaway - Sugar Lee 4:01
06 Donny Hathaway - Tryin' Times 3:12
07 Donny Hathaway - Thank You Master (For My Soul) 5:46
08 Donny Hathaway - The Ghetto 6:50
09 Donny Hathaway - To Be Young, Gifted And Black 6:42
10 Donny Hathaway - Giving Up 6:19
11 Donny Hathaway - A Song For You 5:23
12 Donny Hathaway - Little Girl 4:41
13 Donny Hathaway - He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother 5:53
14 Donny Hathaway - Magnificent Sanctuary Band 4:19
15 Donny Hathaway - She Is My Lady 5:29
16 Donny Hathaway - I Believe In Music 3:35

01 Donny Hathaway - Take A Love Song 4:48
02 Donny Hathaway - Put Your Hand In The Hand 3:47
03 Donny Hathaway - I Love The Lord, He Heard My Cry (Parts I & II) 5:31
04 Donny Hathaway - Someday We'll All Be Free 4:10
05 Donny Hathaway - Flying Easy 3:10
06 Donny Hathaway - Valdez In The Country 3:30
07 Donny Hathaway - I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know 5:20
08 Donny Hathaway - Come Little Children 4:32
09 Donny Hathaway - Love, Love, Love 3:22
10 Donny Hathaway - The Slums 5:09
11 Donny Hathaway - Magdelena 3:06
12 Donny Hathaway - I Know It's You 5:12
13 Donny Hathaway - Jealous Guy (Studio Version) 3:44
14 Donny Hathaway - No Other One But You (1974 Demo) 2:36
15 Donny Hathaway - The Essence Of Destiny (1974 Demo) 2:58
16 Donny Hathaway - Going Down (1974 Demo) 3:26
17 Donny Hathaway - Make It On Your Own (1975 Demo) 1:57

01 Donny Hathaway - This Christmas 3:49
02 Donny Hathaway - Little Ghetto Boy 3:48
03 Donny Hathaway - A Dream 4:09
04 Donny Hathaway - Be There 3:01
05 Donny Hathaway - Lord Help Me 4:06
06 Donny Hathaway - You Were Meant For Me 3:48
07 Donny Hathaway - What A Woman Really Means 2:47
08 Donny Hathaway - What's Going On (Live) 5:19
09 Donny Hathaway - The Ghetto (Live) 12:10
10 Donny Hathaway - Hey Girl (Live) 4:04
11 Donny Hathaway - You've Got A Friend (Live) 4:32
12 Donny Hathaway - Little Ghetto Boy ( Live) 4:30
13 Donny Hathaway - We're Still Friends (Live) 5:14
14 Donny Hathaway - Jealous Guy 3:06
15 Donny Hathaway - Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything) (Live) 13:41

01 Donny Hathaway - To Be Young, Gifted And Black (Live) 8:21
02 Donny Hathaway - A Song For You (Live) 5:53
03 Donny Hathaway - I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know (Live) 5:56
04 Donny Hathaway - We Need You Right Now (Live) 7:55
05 Donny Hathaway - Sack Full Of Dreams (Live) 5:29
06 Donny Hathaway - He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother (Live) 7:48
07 Donny Hathaway - Yesterday (Live) 5:24
08 Donny Hathaway - Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You) (Live) 6:41
09 Donny Hathaway - Flying Easy (Live) 3:10
10 Donny Hathaway - Valdez In The Country (Live) 4:08
11 Donny Hathaway - Someday We'll All Be Free (Live) 5:30
12 Donny Hathaway - Nu-Po (Live) 7:19
13 Donny Hathaway - Love, Love, Love (Live) 4:13


  1. I could not download it. There are jpg's where the links normally are. Thanks for your work. This one looks like it will be amazing.

    1. Hi N8Deepbc.
      My apologies.
      The links are now fixed.

  2. Replies
    1. Enjoy this set despite the sometimes-sad moments, lemonflag.

    2. His life was sad, his music is beautiful.

  3. I have to check this out after that preface, Butter. Many thanks.

    1. Hi BillyMac,
      I hope you are not disappointed.

  4. Wonderful artist, who just never got his just due. Thanks, BB.

  5. Should have been as famous as Marvin Gaye. Thanks for sharing ! Great blog !

    1. I agree with you, Chocoreve.
      I also think the Amazon observer (above) stated it well to.

  6. For some reason I only equated Donny with some sappy 70s ballad and hadn't been interested all these years. This collection changed all that. Donny was friggin' amazing! I first did a YT search and came up with 'The Ghetto' and watched a live performance. It was just killer. Thanks so much Butterboy for putting this out there. There are months of listening in this collection. Best wishes for you and yours for the New Year and you too Lemonflag and PMAC ... and da rest o you guys and dolls!

    1. Thats so good to hear, FiveGunsWest.
      Sometimes the hit song is what identifies the artist but most of the time is the body of work that shows their talent. So, a set like this can offer a different perspective. Glad you're enjoying it.
      Enjoy the year ahead.

    2. Big time. You're right about that. This kicks ass and takes hypenated names!