Monday, September 19, 2022

VA - Jem Records Celebrates Pete Townshend



VA - Jem Records Celebrates Pete Townshend

Fifty years ago, an avid Who fan named Marty Scott and his two childhood friends from New Jersey began to sell records in their college dorms. They traveled to England after graduation and went searching to find a Who album that was not available in the USA. He realized there must be others who wanted it too. This was the start of importing rock albums by JEM Records. Carrying on through the 70's and 80's as the premier independent distribution and label group, Jem helped many labels get national distribution, broke artists via radio and retail, and released hundreds of albums.

Now, fifty years after its operation from a trailer in the parking lot of a "one-stop,” JEM Records continues as the premier "power pop" rock label. On August 5th, Jem will release the third (after John Lennon and Brian Wilson) "Celebrates" album with JEM Records Celebrates Pete Townshend, once again presenting it's artists' interpretation of a rock icons' songs.

“The album brings the JEM Records stable of artists together to celebrate Pete’s legacy as a writer of incredible and intense songs; the guitarist that made the ‘windmill power chord’ a stable of every guitarist’s attack; and the creator of the term ‘Power Pop,’ the banner of which Jem carries today as the leading label of that genre.” Marty Scott, producer & director of the album. The album cover is by Anthony Parisi, artist/concept by Toni Scott.  The album was mastered by Kurt Reil at The House of Vibes in Highland Park, New Jersey. (



Track lists

01 Lisa Mychols & Super 8 Baba O'riley 4:33

02 Grip Weeds I'm Free 3:00

03 Midnight Callers Let My Love Open The Door 2:20

04 Nick Piunti The Seeker 2:33

05 Anderson Council Glow Girl 2:29

06 Lisa Mychols & Super 8 I Can't Explain 2:15

07 Johnathan Pushkar The Kids Are Alright 2:54

08 Gold Needles So Sad About Us 2:53

09 Grip Weeds A Quick One 7:41

10 Weeklings I Can See For Miles 4:18

11 Anderson Council Mary Ann With The Shaky Hand 2:41

12 Richard Barone Let's See Action 4:17

13 Gold Needles The Good's Gone 3:13

14 Airport 77s Substifool 4:15




  1. Hi Butterboy, I missed this but 316 downloads no comment! Thanks for sharing it with us

    1. Hi Little Bill.
      Thank you.
      If I post for comments alone, then I probably wouldn't continue.
      For me comments are not compulsory but are welcomed when one chooses to give thanks.
      I really do this for the love of music.
      I hope you will enjoy this compilation, it quite good.

  2. thanks much! a hospital stay since mid-August has hampered my visits!

  3. I hope you are all better now, Jim.
    Enjoy looking around again.