Wednesday, October 12, 2022

VA - Bubblerock Is Here To Stay Volume 2 (3 x CD's)



VA - Bubblerock Is Here To Stay Volume 2 [2022] (3 x CD's)

"Bubblerock Is Here To Stay Volume Two" treads the same neglected path to deliver more mouldy old dough from the era’s backroom boys: crack songwriting teams (Cook/Greenaway, Carter/Lewis, Chinn/Chapman), hit-or-bust producers (Phil Wainman, Jonathan King), session singers (Tony Burrows, Sue And Sunny), and writers-turned-performers (Lynsey de Paul, Barry Blue, Phillip Goodhand- Tait).

Featuring a number of hits that define the era but have long been swept under the carpet of critical/collector cool: Slade’s first major single, Brotherhood Of Man’s anthemic ‘United We Stand’, Lieutenant Pigeon’s novelty chart-topper plus Top Ten 45s from de Paul, Gilbert O’Sullivan, Middle Of The Road, The Pipkins, Greyhound, Judge Dread, Marmalade and Blue Mink.  Including numerous fascinating obscurities: Jesus Christ Superstar lyricist Tim Rice channels his inner Del Shannon, the mysterious Kidrock pick up the kinder-pop baton from Mark Wirtz, Raw Holly cut an LP of Buddy Holly songs in a more contemporary musical setting, and a Midlands-based harmony pop act look to break their chart duck by raiding The Grateful Dead songbook.  Joined by late 60s underground renegades attempting to snag a hit single (Fairfield Parlour, Velvet Opera) and sundry one-off studio aliases (Smoky Forbes, Helicopter, the Elaine Paige-assisted Hooters), ‘Bubblerock Is Here To Stay Volume Two’ is another opportunity to wallow in the sounds of what one reviewer of the first volume warily described as “dubious pop”. Dubious pop?! Gimme dat ding! (Amazon)

Bubblerock Volume 1 can be found here:


Pt.1      Pt.2 


Track lists


01 Barry Green Shake A Tail Suzy 3:27

02 Lynsey De Paul Sugar Me 3:37

03 Gilbert O'sullivan No Matter How I Try 3:02

04 Stavely Makepeace Walking Through The Blue Grass 2:47

05 Fluff Sunny Honey Girl 2:48

06 Blue Mink Good Morning Freedom 2:51

07 Jonathan King It's A Tall Order For A Short Guy 2:43

08 P. C. Kent After Dark 2:39

09 Derek Paul Drugtaker 2:58

10 Whichwhat Vietnam Rose 3:31

11 Raw Holly Well Alright 2:37

12 Marmalade Radancer 4:01

13 White Plains Dad You Saved The World 2:59

14 Barry Ryan With The Candy Choir Magical Spiel 3:55

15 Paper Dolls My Boyfriend's Back 2:32

16 Iain Campbell On The Road Again 2:15

17 Christie Iron Horse 2:55

18 Stamford Bridge Roly Poly 2:48

19 Roger James High Into The Sky 2:43

20 Sweet Alexander Graham Bell 2:59

21 Kidrock Rock-A-Bye Blues 3:46

22 Big Three The Price Of Love 3:29

23 Shape My Friend John 2:40

24 Main Attraction Telephone Line 3:13

25 Brotherhood Of Man United We Stand 2:52


01 Huddersfield Transit Authority Runaway 3:05

02 Alan Lake Good Times 3:29

03 Iron Cross Little Bit O' Soul 2:30

04 John Dummer Famous Music Band Nine By Nine 3:15

05 Slade Coz I Luv You 3:24

06 Judge Dread Big Six 3:00

07 22nd Street Sunny Sleeps Late 2:44

08 Dave Newman The Lion Sleeps Tonight (Wimoweh) 2:38

09 Complex The Way I Feel 3:18

10 Tremeloes Right Wheel, Left Hammer, Sham 2:45

11 Chain Reaction Working In The City 2:31

12 Brotherly Love Tip Of My Tongue 2:46

13 Middle Of The Road Soley Soley 3:04

14 Portrait Tokaido Lines 3:41

15 Montanas Uncle John's Band 3:31

16 U.k.' Rule Britannia 2:53

17 Paul Ryan Born On A Beautiful Day 3:05

18 Clodagh Rodgers Everybody Go Home, The Party's Over 2:52

19 Tiger Sue Tease Me 2:41

20 Five Day Rain Fall Out 3:33

21 Liverpool Echo You Know It Feels Right 2:10

22 Helicopter I Belong To Yesterday 2:30

23 Phillip Goodhand You Are 3:17

24 Paul Kent Do You 3:26

25 Summer Wine She Is Still A Mystery 2:52

26 Kincade I Really Mean You 2:26

27 Nemo The Sun Has Got His Hat On 2:15


01 Pipkins Gimme Dat Ding 2:13

02 Bruce Spelman 29 Years To Doomsday 3:56

03 Pica Rainbow Chaser 2:54

04 Rockin' Horse Julian The Hooligan (Single Edit) 3:07

05 Autumn Down Down Down 2:28

06 Paintbox Get Ready For Love 3:05

07 Sons And Lovers You're Ready Now 2:05

08 Bay City Rollers Alright 2:05

09 Deep Feeling Sweat, Dust And Red Wine 3:14

10 Smoky Forbes My Kind Of Music 2:40

11 Birds Of A Feather Gimme Shelter 2:42

12 Blackwater Junction Bring All The Young Men Back 3:02

13 Gary Benson Sausalito 3:36

14 Fairfield Parlour Bordeaux Rose 2:49

15 American Jam Band Jam Jam 3:16

16 Greyhound Black And White 2:57

17 Velvet Opera She Keeps Giving Me These Feelings 2:40

18 Simon Turner Do You Know What I Mean 2:29

19 Muff Hurdy Gurdy 2:53

20 John Carter One More Mile To Freedom 3:46

21 Dave Mactavish Ooh La La 3:05

22 Boots You Better Run 2:28

23 Hotlegs Lady Sadie 4:21

24 Holy Mackerel Rock 'a' Bye 2:35

25 Shakane San Jose 2:41

26 Hooters Tossing And Turning 2:39

27 Lieutenant Pigeon Mouldy Old Dough 2:46




  1. Hello is it possible you have Various – Ric-Tic Relics Volume 1 (2007) and Various – Ric-Tic Relics Volume II comps thank you

    1. Hi King,
      I do somewhere. Will need to find it first. Probably in a box...

    2. Thank you for letting me know if you find it please upload it when you can

  2. Well that brought back some fine memories, thank you Butterboy !

    1. Great news, Stu.
      It is always fun to be reminded of songs we used to listen to.