Sunday, October 2, 2022

Larry Young - The Complete Blue Note Recordings of Larry Young [1991] (6 x CD's)



Larry Young - The Complete Blue Note Recordings of Larry Young [1991] (6 x CD's) 

Larry Young, one of the most significant jazz organists to emerge after the rise of Jimmy Smith, is heard on this limited-edition six-CD set at the peak of his creativity. Formerly available as nine LPs, the set includes the original Larry Young albums Into Somethin', Unity, Of Love and Peace, Contrasts, Heaven on Earth, and Mother Ship, while drawing from the compilations 40 Years of Jazz, The History of Blue Note (Dutch), The World of Jazz Organ (Japanese), and The Blue Note 50th Anniversary Collection Volume Two: The Jazz Message, and also including guitarist Grant Green's Talkin' About, Street of Dreams, and I Want to Hold Your Hand. Young was still very much under Smith's influence on the first four sessions released as Talkin' About, Into Somethin', Street of Dreams, and I Want to Hold Your Hand (all featuring a trio with Green and drummer Elvin Jones plus guests Sam Rivers or Hank Mobley on tenor and vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson). However, starting with the monumental Unity session (a quartet outing with Joe Henderson on tenor, trumpeter Woody Shaw, and Jones), Young emerged as a very advanced and original stylist in his own right. Young's final four dates (Of Love and Peace, Contrasts, Heaven on Earth, and Mother Ship) are generally pretty explorative and feature such notable sidemen as altoist James Spaulding and Byard Lancaster, guitarist George Benson, and trumpeter Lee Morgan along with some forgotten local players. This definitive Larry Young set is highly recommended. (AllMusic review by Scott Yanow)


Pt.1     Pt.2 


Track lists


01 Larry Young Talkin’ About J.C. 11:42

02 Larry Young People 7:27

03 Larry Young Luny Tune 7:42

04 Larry Young You Don’t Know What Love Is 7:37

05 Larry Young I’m An Old Cowhand 6:30

06 Larry Young Tyrone 9:39

07 Larry Young Plaza De Toros 9:39

08 Larry Young Ritha (Quartet Version) 6:52


01 Larry Young Paris Eyes 6:41

02 Larry Young Backup 8:40

03 Larry Young Ritha 6:46

04 Larry Young I Wish You Love 8:45

05 Larry Young Lazy Afternoon 7:44

06 Larry Young Street Of Dreams 9:04

07 Larry Young Somewhere In The Night 8:01


01 Larry Young I Want To Hold Your Hand 7:20

02 Larry Young Speak Low 7:12

03 Larry Young Stella By Starlight 6:29

04 Larry Young Corcovado 5:56

05 Larry Young This Could Be The Start Of Something Big 7:08

06 Larry Young At Long Last Love 7:19

07 Larry Young Zoltan 7:38

08 Larry Young Monk’s Dream 5:48

09 Larry Young If 6:42


01 Larry Young The Moontrane 7:20

02 Larry Young Softly As In A Morning Sunrise 6:23

03 Larry Young Beyond All Limits 6:02

04 Larry Young Pavanne 14:09

05 Larry Young Of Love And Peace 6:33

06 Larry Young Seven Steps To Heaven 10:15

07 Larry Young Falaq 10:08


01 Larry Young Majestic Soul 11:58

02 Larry Young Evening 7:12

03 Larry Young Major Affair 3:51

04 Larry Young Wild Is The Wind 4:31

05 Larry Young Tender Feelings 6:51

06 Larry Young Means Happiness 4:47

07 Larry Young The Infant 6:02

08 Larry Young The Cradle 5:04

09 Larry Young The Hereafter 8:42


01 Larry Young Heaven On Earth 6:08

02 Larry Young Call Me 7:28

03 Larry Young My Funny Valentine 4:41

04 Larry Young Mother Ship 7:39

05 Larry Young Street Scene 6:57

06 Larry Young Visions 6:44

07 Larry Young Trip Merchant 12:53

08 Larry Young Love Drops 7:06