Monday, March 28, 2022

Animals - The Complete French CD EP 1964-1967 [2003] (11 x CD's)


Animals - The Complete French CD EP 1964-1967 [2003] (11 x CD's)

This may seem like a strange way to listen to a group's legacy, 42 songs on 11 CD platters in a box. It is a bit pricey, as well, but going up four songs at a time with the Animals sort of makes sense, at least as far as distilling down their most successful and interesting work. The group never quite got the hang of making successful albums; that doesn't mean that they didn't do some very good ones, including their two for EMI, but their 12" platter sales never remotely matched the popularity of their nine hit singles from 1964 through 1966.

Their EPs were a different matter, while the group strained in the studio to assemble 40 minutes of attractive listening, their songs made great four-track platters. In England, they issued five extended-play singles, while in France the group saw twice that many issued in their name, both by EMI Records and the Barclay label. The 11 discs in this box (counting the bonus CD single of "San Franciscan Nights" b/w "Good Times") make up their French EP output across three years, each song remastered in state-of-the-art, 24-bit digital audio and sounding most impressive.  Starting with The Animals, containing "House of the Rising Sun," "Talkin' About You" (the official "short" edit), "Gonna Send You Back to Walker," and "Baby Let Me Take You Home," there's a good cross-section of the best work out of just about every group of recording sessions the band ever had -- they never knew how to program an album for mass appeal (especially as they couldn't include any singles on them). The EMI sides are a match in fidelity to the sound on the 24-bit Japanese remasters of the two EMI albums, but the box continues on up past that point to their brief stay with England's Decca Records and Burdon's closing out of the Animals name and eventual formation of Eric Burdon & the Animals.

All of the EMI material, and even a major chunk of the Decca-recorded sides (now owned by B&C Recordings), was upgraded elsewhere by 2003, but not the MCA-owned sides such as "Hey Gyp," "When I Was Young," the mastering of which here makes the quality on Polygram's Best of Eric Burdon & the Animals, 1966-1968 sound like it's mastered off of 45s.  There is one genuine obscurity, "Ain't That So," from their early psychedelic period. The artwork on the individual sleeves is also more interesting than the images on the jackets of either of their EMI LPs, at least until 1966, when the group's lineup became very fluid and Burdon became the focus of the graphics -- and one also gets a good picture of the 1967-vintage group on the bonus disc sleeve. (All Music review by Bruce Eder)

All tracks are in the original mono, except for the bonus disc in stereo, & remastered in high definition 24-bit. 11 papersleeves packaged in a full color flip-top box. (Amazon)



Track lists


01 Animals The House Of The Rising Sun 4:29

02 Animals Talkin' About You (French EP version) 1:51

03 Animals Donna Send You Back To Walker 2:29

04 Animals Baby, Let Me Take You Home 2:20


01 Animals I'm Crying 2:46

02 Animals Take It Easy 2:51

03 Animals She Said Yeah 2:18

04 Animals I'm In Love Again 2:59


01 Animals Boom Boom 3:18

02 Animals Club-A-Gogo 2:19

03 Animals Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood 2:27

04 Animals Roadrunner 2:48


01 Animals Bring It On Home To Me 2:41

02 Animals Hallelujah! I Love Her So 2:45

03 Animals For Miss Caulker 3:56

04 Animals Mess Around 2:19


01 Animals We've Gotta Out Of This Place 3:12

02 Animals I Can't Believe It 3:32

03 Animals I Ain't Got You 2:27

04 Animals How You've Changed 3:12


01 Animals It's My Life 3:05

02 Animals Believe To My Soul 3:23

03 Animals I'm Going To Change The World 3:33

04 Animals Let The Good Times Roll 1:55


01 Animals Inside Looking Out 3:44

02 Animals That's All I Am To You 2:23

03 Animals She'll Return It 2:41

04 Animals Outcast 3:03


01 Animals Don't Bring Me Down 3:15

02 Animals Cheating 2:24

03 Animals What Am I Living For 3:12

04 Animals I Put A Spell On You 2:55


01 Eric Burdon & The Animals See See Rider 4:00

02 Eric Burdon & The Animals Mama Told Me Not To Come 2:14

03 Eric Burdon & The Animals Help Me Girl 2:36

04 Eric Burdon & The Animals That Ain't Where It's At 3:00


01 Eric Burdon & The Animals Hey Gyp 3:47

02 Eric Burdon & The Animals In The Night 2:29

03 Eric Burdon & The Animals When I Was Young 2:59

04 Eric Burdon & The Animals Ain't That So 3:18


01 Eric Burdon & The Animals San Francisco Nights 3:19

02 Eric Burdon & The Animals Good Times 2:58




  1. Thanks BB. A lot of memories for me these French 45's. Great!

    1. You're welcome Patrick,
      I hope these memories will make you happy.


  2. Most of the songs I listened to, this weekend, were by Eric Burdon, so this gift is an added pleasure.
    Thank you BB.
    Have a nice week!

    1. The stars must be aligned, Manolis, good for us.


  3. Thanks BB
    All this music, Electric Bob Dylan and Jimi Hendrix. This group gave us so much.

    1. Thanks lemonflag,
      I always felt the animals were underrated. They were a great group.


  4. Hi Butterboy,
    Thanks for these French Eps. Listening to the Animals is always great and these cds are an fantastic gift!

    1. Hi Il Commendatore,
      You're welcome. The songs are all good on these EP's.