Saturday, March 5, 2022

VA - In Yo' Face! The History Of Funk, Vol. 01 - Vol. 05 [1993] (5 x CD's)



VA - In Yo' Face! The History Of Funk, Vol. 01 - Vol. 05 [1993]  (5 x CD's)

The five-volume In Yo' Face: The History of Funk series was a very welcomed thing when Rhino issued it in 1993 and remained a valuable source over a decade later, boasting one of the best documentations of '70s and early-'80s funk around -- even in the wake of dozens upon dozens of other like-minded sets. That said, In Yo' Face does have its limitations. It's frustrating that the majority of the inclusions appear in three-to-four-minute radio edits (thus stripping some crucial dynamics); it's also a little odd that each disc sticks to a strict 15-track capacity; and crate-digging funk fans will notice that Rhino must've run into a few licensing roadblocks, since there are some significant holes. Regardless, these five discs have been invaluable to wedding DJs, party hosts, and newcomers alike. The first volume features natural picks like James Brown's "(Get Up I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine," the Staple Singers' "I'll Take You There," and Curtis Mayfield's "Freddie's Dead," and it balances those with tunes that are just as worthy, such as Eddie Kendricks' "Keep on Truckin'," Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band's "Express Yourself," and Family Vibes' "Garbage Man.". That aside, this is still a great set. (Amazon)

Unfortunately I don't have the "In Yo' Face! The Roots Of Funk, Vol. ½, The Roots of Funk [1994]" album, If anyone would like to share it please do so in the comments section.





I Just received a copy "In Yo' Face! The Roots Of Funk, Vol. ½, The Roots of Funk [1994] (sent by K.)

Here is the link:



Track lists


01 James Brown Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine (Part 1) 2:52

02 Sly & the Family Stone Thank You Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin 4:46

03 Funkadelic I Wanna Know If It's Good to You! 2:51

04 Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band Expressyourself 3:52

05 King Floyd Groove Me 3:00

06 Dramatics Get Up and Get Down 3:13

07 Staple Singers I'll Take You There 3:15

08 Lyn Collins Think (About It) 3:23

09 Curtis Mayfield Freddie's Dead (Theme From Superfly) 3:47

10 Fred Wesley and the J.B.'s Doing it to Death 5:08

11 Ike Turner Presents the Family Vibes Garbage Man 2:56

12 Eddie Kendricks Keep on Truckin' (Part 1) 3:34

13 War Me and Baby Brother 3:33

14 Earth, Wind & Fire Mighty Mighty 3:04

15 Parliament Up for the Down Stroke 3:33


01 James Brown Make it Funky, Part 1 3:18

02 Sly & the Family Stone Family Affair 3:05

03 Curtis Mayfield Future Shock 3:36

04 Kool & the Gang Funky Stuff 3:04

05 Tower of Power What is Hip? 3:24

06 Maceo & the Macks Soul Power 74, Part 1 3:05

07 The O'jays For the Love of Money 3:46

08 Rufus Tell Me Something Good 3:35

09 Average White Band Person to Person 3:40

10 B.T. Express Do it ('til You're Satisfied) 3:13

11 Ike & Tina Turner Sexy Ida, Part 1 2:32

12 Average White Band Pick Up the Pieces 3:59

13 Earth, Wind & Fire Shining Star 2:52

14 The Temptations Shakey Ground 3:19

15 Parliament Chocolate City 5:39


01 Kool & the Gang Jungle Boogie 3:06

02 Sly & the Family Stone In Time 5:47

03 James Brown Papa Don't Take No Mess, Part 1 4:31

04 George McCrae I Get Lifted 2:47

05 Average White Band Cut the Cake 3:38

06 O'jays Give the People What They Want 3:14

07 Isley Brothers Fight the Power, Part 1 3:21

08 Graham Central Station The Jam 3:38

09 Parliament P. Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up) 3:39

10 Rufus Dance Wit Me 3:59

11 Natalie Cole Sophisticated Lady (She's a Different Lady) 3:28

12 Wild Cherry Play That Funky Music 3:16

13 Funkadelic Undisco Kidd 4:16

14 Brothers Johnson Get the Funk Out Ma Face 6:01

15 Cameo Funk Funk 4:47


01 Sly & the Family Stone If You Want Me to Stay 3:00

02 James Brown The Payback 7:33

03 Kool & the Gang Hollywood Swinging 4:40

04 Graham Central Station Water 4:26

05 Average White Band School Boy Crush 4:58

06 Parliament Tear the Roof Off the Sucker (Give Up the Funk) 3:44

07 Bar-Kays Shake Your Rump to the Funk 3:31

08 Brick Dazz 5:37

09 Bootsy's Rubber Band The Pinocchio Theory 4:08

10 Marvin Gaye Got to Give it Up, Part 1 4:13

11 Slave Slide 3:20

12 Earth, Wind & Fire Serpentine Fire 3:44

13 George Duke Reach for It 3:31

14 Brass Construction L-O-V-E-U 3:40

15 Isley Brothers Take Me to the Next Phase, Part 1 4:16


01 Sly & the Family Stone Loose Booty 3:45

02 Con Funk Shun Ffun 3:36

03 Parliament Flash Light 4:31

04 George Duke Dukey Stick (Part One) 3:33

05 Fatback Band I Like Girls 3:48

06 Brides of Funkenstein Disco to Go 4:04

07 Bar-Kays Holy Ghost 3:39

08 Chuck Brown & the Soul Searchers Bustin' Loose Part I 3:50

09 Gap Band Shake 3:35

10 Bernie Worrell Insurance Man for the Funk 3:58

11 Ohio Players Take De Funk Off, Fly 4:28

12 Rick James Bustin' Out 3:57

13 Cameo I Just Want to Be 3:43

14 Sly & the Family Stone The Same Thing 2:41

15 Zapp More Bounce to the Ounce, Part I 4:02




  1. i checked all of my HD's and couldn't find 1/2 cd, would of loved to give you something back.. I used to have these on CD , a big thanks for them

    1. Thanks doors97426.
      I have been sent a copy of the 1/2 Cd and it is now included on the main page.

      Thank you for looking and helping with your support.


    2. Thanks for the 1/2, I've been looking for that a long time!

    3. That is good to hear Gary Field,
      It is always great to complete the set.


  2. Thanks for this Butterboy and K for 1/2.

    1. Hi Bob Mac,
      You're welcome. K has been very helpful and its appreciated you mention him too.


  3. Replies
    1. Hi puw,
      Thanks for that.
      Its a lovely set.


  4. Thanks! You've just funked up my Monday.

    1. Hi Pez49,
      I hope your day is not too Funked Up...


  5. Hi. Only part 1 is available. Hope you will have time to re-up. Thank you so much.

    1. Hi Macambo.
      New links Established, tested and working.