Friday, November 18, 2022

VA - Progressive Folk Vol. 01 (A Butterboy Compilation) CD1+CD2+CD3



VA - Progressive Folk Vol. 01 (A Butterboy Compilation) CD1+CD2+CD3

Progressive Rock, not to be mistaken for the Folk Rock of the 1960s, a Folk revival started on both sides of the Atlantic, that got quickly linked with a protest movement, not always, but often linked to more left-wing tendencies, which did not sit well with the authorities. With their delicious harmonies, Folk Rock was appealing only to the rock public as older generations turned their backs in folkies.

However, a real turning point album that led to further change of Folk Rock is Fairport Convention's "Liege & Lief" album, that proved to be highly influential for another generation of groups: this album concentrated into electrifying seminal English traditional folk and retained that quaint Englishness taste. It is interesting to see that both leaders of Fairport Convention quit the band after this success to go their respective ways.  By this time, most connoisseurs were talking of Acid Folk, Psych Folk, and Progressive Folk, all having limited differences and no particularly drawn-out limits or boundaries, but all relying on experimental or groundbreaking adventures and good musicianship but not necessarily of an acoustic nature. Those who were out to break new ground (but with less commercial success as their predecessors) started turning records more and more axed towards fusing jazz and folk, others became more and more electric, and they started to be referred to as Singer Songwriters especially those with country rock influences. There is also a very important medieval music influences dimension in some groups as the term Medieval Folk was also mentioned for a while but apparently dropped by musicologists.  Many European bands took folk rock to a higher level and combined music that was folky, experimental and progressive.

Many Progressive Rock bands/artists incorporated Folk music in their compositions. Some are amazingly good and it's a pity that they don't get heard all that often.  This compilation concentrates on Progressive Rock music with a Folk sound from around the globe that is captivating and as well as enjoyable. 

This is Volume 1 of a 3 Volume set. Enjoy!


Pt.1      Pt.2     Pt.3 


Track list


01 Emtidi Saat 4:16

02 Genesis Stagnation 8:46

03 Jade Warrior A Winters Tale 5:14

04 Focus House Of The King 2:22

05 Mckendree Spring Fading Lady 5:22

06 Pearls Before Swine Another Time 3:03

07 Svanfridur What's Hidden There? 4:05

08 Barclay James Harvest Galadriel 3:12

09 Strawbs Flying 4:51

10 Amarok Coda 4:19

11 Glass Hammer A Bitter Wind 4:35

12 Mostly Autumn Prints In The Stone 3:28

13 Fairport Convention Decameron 3:41

14 Ibis Divine Mountain Journey Of Life (Part 1 - Vision Of Majesty) 3:41

15 Tudor Lodge It All Comes Back To Me 4:19

16 Comus In The Lost Queen's Eyes 2:49

17 Crystals Feeling 4:59

18 Ougenweide Der Hofmaler 5:15

19 Harmonium Histoire Sans Paroles 17:12

20 Emerson, Lake & Palmer Still... You Turn Me On 2:51


21 Camel Air Born 5:02

22 Carol Of Harvest Somewhere At The End Of The Rainbow 6:25

23 Traffic John Barleycorn Must Die 6:25

24 Faun Fables Joshua 4:03

25 Gravy Train Jule's Delight 6:57

26 Lindisfarne Lady Eleanor 4:12

27 Mellow Candle Silver Song 4:27

28 Los Jaivas Frescura Antigua 3:17

29 Tangerine It's Ending 4:22

30 Espers Flowery Noontide 3:37

31 Soup Loralyn (And The River Lady Within) 7:03

32 Morrigan The Parting Glass 4:07

33 Jupiter Sunset Highway Man 1:50

34 Culpeper's Orchard Autumn Of It All 4:05

35 Iamthemorning Belighted 3:25

36 I Pooh Fantasia 3:18

37 Trader Horne In My Loneliness 2:25

38 Malicorne Bouree 2:26

39 Celeste Fireflies In The Grass 3:18

40 Phantasia Genena 9:22


41 Acqua Fragile Bar Gazing 5:01

42 Curved Air Marie Antoinette 6:21

43 Spirogyra Love Is A Funny Thing 2:07

44 Bread, Love & Dreams Butterflyland 5:10

45 Fairport Convention Matty Groves 8:09

46 Shide & Acorn Girl Of The Cosmos 5:35

47 Amazing Blondel Love Sonnet 4:02

48 Gentle Giant On Reflection 5:44

49 Espers Mansfield & Cyclops 5:59

50 Folque Heming Og Harald Kongjen 3:54

51 Van Der Graaf Generator Refugees 6:21

52 Malicorne Le Deuil D'amour 5:38

53 Delirium Dio Del Silenzio 2:59

54 Le Orme Ad Gloriam 5:33

55 Pfm (premiata Forneria Marconi) Impressioni Di Settembre 5:44

56 Jethro Tull Velvet Green 6:02

57 Kalacakra September Full Moon 9:39

58 Witthüser & Westrupp Schöpfung (1. Mose 1) 8:25

59 Dead Can Dance Fortune Presents Gifts Not According To The Book 6:03

60 Magna Carta Seven O?clock Hyme Midwinter 12:51




  1. Replies
    1. I hope you like this set, Herve.
      There are two more volumes to come.

  2. Replies
    1. Hi Rockstalgia.
      I just tried the link, and it is working fine. Please try again.

  3. Thanks. A lot of "new to my ears" music here.

    1. That is good sometimes, lemonflag.