Monday, November 21, 2022

VA - Blue Note Re-imagined [2020] + VA - Blue Note Re-imagined II [2022] (3 x CD's)


VA - Blue Note Re-imagined [2020] + VA - Blue Note Re-imagined II [2022] (3 x CD's)

Blue Note Re-imagined presents classic Blue Note tracks, reworked and newly recorded by a selection of the UK scene’s most exciting young talents today. Representing a bridge between the ground-breaking label’s past and future, the project will feature contributions from a rollcall of internationally acclaimed jazz, soul and R&B acts – Shabaka Hutchings, Ezra Collective, Nubya Garcia, Mr Jukes, Steam Down, Skinny Pelembe, Emma-Jean Thackray, Poppy Ajudha, Jordan Rakei, Fieh, Ishmael Ensemble, Blue Lab Beats, Melt Yourself Down, Yazmin Lacey, Alfa Mist, and Brit Award-winning Jorja Smith.

Following the smashing success of the first compilation in 2020, Decca is rolling out the second entry in what will hopefully be a recurring Blue Note Re:imagined series. As with the first, Blue Note Re:imagined II sees a host of modern jazz, soul, and R&B artists take on classic Blue Note recordings and update them to the modern age. These covers range from radical departures to more traditional retreads, but all are done with a clear reverence for the source materials. As jazz continues to permeate within pop culture and its parameters widen, recontextualising these sacred tomes seems ever more pertinent. (Amazon)

“For more than eight decades the artists of Blue Note Records have continually pushed the envelope of contemporary music, and Blue Note Re:imagined II once again honors that legacy by letting the UK’s most creative young artists reinvent the treasures of the Blue Note catalog through their own lens.” – Blue Note President, Don Was






Track list

Blue Note Re-imagined CD1

01 Jorja Smith Rose Rouge 5:59

02 Ezra Collective Footprints 6:20

03 Poppy Ajudha Watermelon Man (Under The Sun) 4:30

04 Jordan Rakei Wind Parade 4:48

05 Skinny Pelembe Illusion (Silly Apparition) 4:13

06 Alfa Mist Galaxy 9:12

07 Ishmael Ensemble Search For Peace 4:21

08 Nubya Garcia A Shade Of Jade 6:47

Blue Note Re-imagined CD2

01 Steam Down Feat. Afronaut Zu Etcetera 4:40

02 Blue Lab Beats Montara 5:51

03 Yazmin Lacey I'll Never Stop Loving You 4:57

04 Fieh Armageddon 3:29

05 Mr Jukes Maiden Voyage 4:13

06 Shabaka Hutchings Prints Tie 6:41

07 Melt Yourself Down Caribbean Fire Dance 3:15

08 Emma-jean Thackray Speak No Evil (Night Dreamer) 4:59

Blue Note Re-imagined II

01 Yazz Ahmed It 5:13

02 Conor Albert You Make Me Feel So Good 3:10

03 Parthenope Don't Know Why 3:43

04 Swindle Miss Kane 4:15

05 Nubiyan Twist Through The Noise (Chant No.2) 4:48

06 Ego Ella May Morning Side Of Love 3:53

07 Oscar Jerome & Oscar #worldpeace Green With Envy 4:52

08 Daniel Casimir Feat. Ria Moran Lost 5:53

09 Theon Cross Epistrophy 3:31

10 Maya Delilah Harvest Moon 4:12

11 Kay Young Feel Like Making Love 4:17

12 Venna & Marco Where Are We Going? 3:46

13 Reuben James Infant Eyes 2:54

14 Binker Golding Fort Worth 5:42

15 Cherise Sunrise 3:40

16 Franc Moody Crist Redentor 5:20