Saturday, October 30, 2021

VA - Shake The Foundations, Militant Funk & The Post-Punk Dancefloor 1978-1984 (3 x CD's)


VA - Shake The Foundations, Militant Funk & The Post-Punk Dancefloor 1978-1984 (3 x CD's)

Shake the Foundations is a compact outgrowth of earlier Cherry Red boxed sets such as To the Outside of Everything and Optimism/Reject (Previously Posted). Across three discs, it emphasizes the post-punk bands who, in the spirit of having a go, investigated funk, disco, reggae, and other forms that could be reshaped for the sake of moving bodies. 

In the wake of punk's seismic and well recounted impact on the UK music scene, countless hitherto unavailable influences suddenly became available and de rigueur for the nation's would-be pop stars. Enabled by a new kind of record shop that began to appear across the country in Rough Trade's image and encouraged by an absolute disregard for 'the rules', interested young people were quickly exposed to a broad spectrum of music from beyond the realm of three chord rock 'n roll. Nowhere was the outcome more notable than on the dancefloors of the day. 'Shake The Foundations' captures that after dark revolution, showcasing an era when disco, dub, electronica, funk and - whisper it - pop sensibilities - began to flood into the alternative, post-punk landscape. Running parallel with Ze Records and the no-wave movement in the US, clubs such as Marc Almond's Digital Disco and legendary nights at The Garage in Nottingham, The State in Liverpool, the Blue Note in Derby and across London at nights like the Batcave became fast moving, democratic melting pots. Across 3CDs, Bill Brewster selects highlights from his own extensive DJing career, each disc individually curated. As he himself puts it, "The important thing was not to impress James Brown, emulate the Fatback Band or wear Kraftwerk's game-face. The point was to have a go. 'Shake The Foundations' is not a comprehensive look at post-punk, so much as a shakily hand-drawn map of a particular area. It's what happened when the post-punk fallout collided with the dancefloor, and forty years later we're still feeling it's effects". (Amazon)






Track lists


01 A Certain Ratio Guess Who? 5:02

02 23 Skidoo Coup 4:16

03 Haircut 100 Evil Smokestacking Baby 4:33

04 Simple Minds This Fear of Gods 7:00

05 Stranglers Love 30 4:02

06 Passage Born Every Minute 5:38

07 Blue Rondo А La Turk Sarava 3:35

08 Medium Medium Serbian Village 4:46

09 Higsons Push Out the Boat 3:20

10 John Cooper Clarke Post-War Glamour Girl 3:35

11 Passions Skin Deep 4:18

12 Jah Wobble Invaders of the Heart (Mix One) 4:34

13 Modern Romance Can You Move 3:55

14 Wide Boy Awake Slang Teacher 5:25

15 C Cat Trance Hypnotised 5:21

16 Maximum Joy Stretch 3:51


01 Tones on Tail Lions 4:01

02 Ian Dury Trust is a Must 6:50

03 Perfect Zebras What Dance is This? 4:14

04 Fun Boy Three Faith, Hope and Charity 2:50

05 Shock Dream Games 4:05

06 Jesse Rae Rusha 5:54

07 Thomas Leer Don't 5:32

08 Kissing the Pink Big Man Restless 3:49

09 Paul Haig Blue for You 5:01

10 Visage Frequency 7 (Dance Mix) 5:06

11 Six Sed Red Bang 'em Right 6:21

12 Quando Quango Tingle 5:20

13 Vicious Pink Cccan't You See 3:30

14 Fashion Move On 3:55

15 Wide Boy Awake Set Fighter 4:03


01 Surface Mutants When Are We? (Now We Are) 4:22

02 Furniture Why Are We in Love 5:11

03 Pop Group Rob a Bank 2:19

04 Animal Magic Get it Right 4:36

05 Nightmares in Wax Black Leather 4:11

06 Normil Hawaiians Obedience 3:00

07 012 Asbestos Lead Asbestos 5:28

08 Vee VV Keep Beat 4:07

09 Mataya Clifford Living Wild 4:14

10 Electric Chairs So Many Ways 3:56

11 London Underground Dreams Are Better 4:16

12 Group Therapy Arty-Fact 4:18

13 Diagram Brothers We Are All Animals 2:43

14 Chicken Granny Quit the Body 3:07

15 Machine Gun Hogg & Co Bed Bound Saga 3:36

16 Playgroup Hoggs Might Fly 3:26

17 Glaxo Babies Shake (The Foundations) 3:57

18 Family Fodder Disco Purge 2:28




  1. Excellent idea for a comp, BB. Having been just the right age in the UK at that particular time, I relate to a lot of this.

    1. Hi 96dbFreak,
      Cherry red do an amazing job on their compilations.
      Having music transport you back to good times is wonderful.


  2. Another excellent compilation.....thanks Butterboy

  3. Replies
    1. Sounds good, StoneRose.
      Just make sure you wear the correct shoes.👞


  4. A very good compilation remembering me the times when i was young. Sweet memories ...

    Thanks for all the work you are doing here, Butterboy.

    So so called "MixTape-Generation" never will die.

    The "Test" was only a test

    1. Hi Fuzzy Crew,
      Here's to the Mixtape Generation... and our memories.


  5. Compared to some current musical productions, these songs sound almost comparatively "harmless" and almost melodic, in any case mostly very excitingly orchestrated. Interesting for me in any case, because at the time (1978-1984) I was completely on a melodic trip and unfortunately noticed and accepted this rhythmic art far too little, which I can now make up for, thank you, Butterboy!

    1. HI WOODY,
      I wish I could have listened to more during those years, not that I didn't try. I must say I slowed don in the eighties a little, I heard a lot but i didn't listen. I am enjoying these sounds again. Some great tracks knocking about in this lot. Enjoy.


  6. Hi, could you reupload it?
    thanks a lot.
    fantastic and unbeatable blog

    1. Hi george,
      New links established, tested and working.