Thursday, October 21, 2021

VA - Soul Train Hall of Fame, 20th Anniversary [1994] (3 x CD's)



VA - Soul Train Hall of Fame, 20th Anniversary [1994] (3 x CD's)

Soul Train, the longest-running weekly syndicated program in television, gave black artists and dancers a forum when there was no interest from the major networks. This fine three-disc boxed set celebrates the show's two decades and serves as a good overview of how contemporary black pop has changed during its run. The opening disc is by far the most diverse; during the mid-70's, there was still room for Southern soul and blues, stylish pop, funk, and vocal groups. The second disc mirrors the turn toward more sophisticated production, a less soulful sound, and the coming of disco. The final CD begins with light soul and pop-tinged fare, then slides into rap, hip-hop, and new jack swing. Most of these songs are available elsewhere, but this collection gives listeners a consistently entertaining tour. Rhino deserves bonus points for using all original versions throughout. (All Music review by Ron Wynn)



Track lists


01 MFSB Feat. the Three Degrees TSOP (The Sound of Philadelphia) 3:36

02 James Brown and the Famous Flames Cold Sweat, Part 1 2:58

03 B.B. King The Thrill is Gone 5:26

04 Al Green Love and Happiness 5:04

05 Staple Singers I’ll Take You There 3:18

06 Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes If You Don’t Know Me By Now 3:29

07 Bill Withers Lean on Me 3:57

08 Chi‐lites Oh Girl 3:20

09 O’jays Love Train 3:01

10 Pointer Sisters Yes We Can Can 3:07

11 Four Tops Ain’t No Woman (Like the One I’ve Got) 3:08

12 Gladys Knight & the Pips Midnight Train to Georgia 4:40

13 Spinners Love Don’t Love Nobody, Part 1 3:35

14 Earth, Wind & Fire Reasons 4:53

15 Natalie Cole This Will Be 2:52

16 Isley Brothers Fight the Power, Part 1 3:22

17 Aretha Franklin Something He Can Feel 3:29

18 Lou Rawls You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine 3:33

19 Rufus & Chaka Khan Sweet Thing 3:18

20 Brothers Johnson I’ll Be Good to You 3:30

21 Parliament Tear the Roof Off the Sucker (Give Up the Funk) 3:45


01 O’Bryan Soul Train’s A’comin’ 4:15

02 L.T.D. (Every Time I Turn Around) Back in Love Again 3:39

03 Prince I Wanna Be Your Lover 2:59

04 Chaka Khan I’m Every Woman 3:52

05 Smokey Robinson Cruisin’ 4:29

06 Commodores Three Times a Lady 3:38

07 Donna Summer Bad Girls 4:01

08 Sister Sledge We Are Family 3:38

09 Diana Ross Upside Down 3:41

10 Kool & the Gang Celebration 3:42

11 Teddy Pendergrass Love T.K.O. 3:41

12 Shalamar The Second Time Around 4:29

13 Whispers Lady 5:06

14 Stephanie Mills Never Knew Love Like This Before 3:34

15 Gap Band Burn Rubber (Why You Wanna Hurt Me) 4:14

16 Dazz Band Let it Whip 4:06

17 Rick James Super Freak, Part 1 3:21

18 Marvin Gaye Sexual Healing 4:09

19 Stevie Wonder Ribbon in the Sky 3:47

20 Time Jungle Love 3:26


01 George Duke Soul Train Theme 6:06

02 Tina Turner What’s Love Got to Do With It 3:50

03 Lionel Richie Stuck on You 3:13

04 Ashford & Simpson Solid 3:45

05 Patti Labelle If Only You Knew 3:46

06 Freddie Jackson You Are My Lady 4:20

07 Whitney Houston You Give Good Love 4:36

08 Cameo Word Up 4:19

09 Whodini Freaks Come Out at Night 4:43

10 Alexander O’neal Fake 3:59

11 Kool Moe Dee How Ya Like Me Now 3:47

12 Gerald Levert Just Coolin’ 4:04

13 Bobby Brown My Prerogative 4:31

14 Mc Hammer U Can’t Touch This 4:16

15 Naughty By Nature OPP 4:31

16 Luther Vandross Power of Love (Love Power) 4:20

17 Quincy Jones Feat. Al B Sure, J. Ingram, El Debarge & B. White The Secret Garden (Sweet Seduction Suite) 6:41

18 Vanessa Williams Save the Best for Last 3:41




  1. Just spectacular, BB, as is your way. Thanks so much for all the unusual and eclectic mixes. You are unparalleled.

    1. Hi John,
      Thank you for the kind words. Appreciated.
      Always enjoy the music.


  2. Thanks for this BB...lots of good tracks on this.

    1. Hi Bob Mac,
      Hope you are enjoying these tracks on this fine day.


  3. A big thank you for this wonderful box set.

  4. Good morning BB and all the rest
    New link on "My compilations series 6" "VVAA - Do you know what it feels to miss New Orleans" by demand of Soulsville

    1. Thanks Doc, hoping your day is working out well.
      Thanks for updating the link for Soulsville.


  5. From B.B.King to Vanessa and the whole universe in between, you did it again BB, thx.

    1. Enjoy this hall of fame set StoneRose.
      Its worth every moment you give to it.


  6. Replies
    1. Hi Guitarradeplastico,scraping oddities.
      I hope you will enjoy these.


  7. Damn, missed this one, it's epic, I always watched this show growing up. May Don Cornelius rest in peace.
    May I get a new link, please?

    1. So it seems a 25th Anniversary came out in 1995, looking for either.

    2. Hi D,
      The link is still active and working. Please try again.

  8. Ok thanks, must have been my virus app blocking me. Got it...thanks BB.

    1. Good to hear you now have it, D.
      It is weird how that happens sometimes.