Tuesday, May 11, 2021

A - The Brit Box, U.K. Indie, Shoegaze, and Brit-Pop Gems of the Last Millennium [2007] (4 x CD's)


VA - The Brit Box, U.K. Indie, Shoegaze, and Brit-Pop Gems of the Last Millennium [2007] (4 x CD's)

Incredible four CD box set filled with influential and diverse U.K.-based Indie Pop and Rock acts that emerged from Great Britain in the broad wake of 80's Post-Punk. The Brit Box features all of the styles that wormed their way into the hearts of the music lovers during the late 80's, all through the 90's and beyond including Indie, Shoegaze, Baggy and Brit-Pop. While many artists featured here enjoyed superstar status in Mother England, their impact on U.S. charts was more peripheral but their stylistic imprint and collective uber-hip peer-pressure on late 20th century popular music overall is undeniable. With the respect given the 60's-era British Invasion in countless other compilations, Rhino's new trans-Atlantic ocean liner-sized box shaped to resemble a vintage UK phone booth with real flickering lights champions close to 80 independent acts that didn't so much reject mainstream musical sensibilities as spin it in their own fashion for hits that defined cool. Lovingly compiled with true oh to be in England spirit, Rhino hails Britannia with over five hours of taste-maker tracks. (Amazon)


12    34


Track lists


01 Smiths How Soon Is Now_ 6:44

02 Cocteau Twins Lorelei 3:42

03 Felt Primitive Painters 6:00

04 Shop Assistants Somewhere in China 3:03

05 Mighty Lemon Drops My Biggest Thrill 2:57

06 Cure Just Like Heaven 3:30

07 Echo & the Bunnymen Lips Like Sugar 4:51

08 Jesus and Mary Chain April Skies 4:00

09 Spacemen 3 Walkin' with Jesus (Sound of Confusion) 5:52

10 Primitives Crash 2:32

11 Wonder Stuff Unbearable 2:28

12 Stone Roses She Bangs the Drums 3:43

13 Charlatans UK The Only One I Know 3:58

14 Happy Mondays Step On 5:16

15 Primal Scream Loaded [Single Version] 4:10

16 Inspiral Carpets This Is How It Feels 3:12

17 Trash Can Sinatras Obscurity Knocks 4:08

18 La's There She Goes 2:42

19 Sundays Here's Where the Story Ends 3:52


01 Ride Vapour Trail 4:17

02 Pale Saints Sight of You 5:37

03 My Bloody Valentine Only Shallow 4:18

04 Lush For Love 3:29

05 Telescopes Flying 2:53

06 Chapterhouse Pearl 4:53

07 Catherine Wheel I Want to Touch You 4:40

08 Bleach Trip & Slide 5:10

09 Curve Coast Is Clear 4:01

10 Five Thirty You 4:27

11 Moose This River Will Never Run Dry 6:24

12 Family Cat (Thought I'd Died) And Gone to Heaven 4:54

13 Dylans (Don't Cut Me Down) Mary Quant in Blue 3:17

14 Thousand Yard Stare 0-0 A.E.T. (No Score After Extra Time) 3:43

15 Ned's Atomic Dustbin Grey Cell Green 3:44

16 Birdland Shoot You Down 3:12

17 Manic Street Preachers Stay Beautiful 3:10

18 Teenage Fanclub Star Sign 4:53


01 Suede Metal Mickey 3:24

02 Swervedriver Duel [Radio Edit] 4:39

03 Eugenius Breakfast 3:48

04 Superstar Barfly 2:35

05 New Order Regret 4:08

06 James Laid 2:39

07 Nick Heyward Kite 3:06

08 Boo Radleys Lazarus 4:40

09 Saint Etienne You're in a Bad Way 3:02

10 Stereolab Wow & Flutter 3:08

11 Blur Tracy Jacks 4:18

12 Oasis Live Forever 4:37

13 Pulp Common People 5:50

14 These Animal Men Speeed King 3:00

15 Mega City Four Wallflower 3:41

16 Echobelly Insomniac 4:14

17 Gene Sleep Well Tonight 4:31

18 Menswear Sleeping In 4:41

19 Supergrass Alright 3:01

20 Cast Alright 3:35

21 Elastica Stutter 2:22


01 Dodgy In a Room 4:16

02 Ash Girl from Mars 3:25

03 Sleeper Sale of the Century 4:28

04 Marion Sleep 3:04

05 Kula Shaker Tattva 3:47

06 Ocean Colour Scene The Riverboat Song 4:53

07 Babybird You're Gorgeous 3:41

08 Bluetones Slight Return 3:19

09 Super Furry Animals Something 4 the Weekend 2:50

10 Divine Comedy Something for the Weekend 4:20

11 Cornershop Brimful of Asha 5:17

12 Silver Sun Service 3:01

13 Spiritualized Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space 3:41

14 Mansun Wide Open Space 4:32

15 Hurricane #1 Step into My World 4:59

16 Verve Lucky Man 4:53

17 Rialto Untouchable 4:14

18 Catatonia Mulder and Scully 4:10

19 Placebo You Don't Care About Us 3:56

20 Gay Dad Oh Jim 2:46




  1. Uf, this is awesome, thank you BB.

    1. Hi stoneRose.
      Enjoy the sounds of the UK. There are many great tracks in this set.


  2. Hi,
    It seems really really good.
    Thanks a lot for another great sharing!

    1. Hi Il Commendatore
      I must say, there are some great tracks in this set.


  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you - this looks great

    1. Hi heartofstone,
      You are welcome. Lots to be cheerful about...


  4. Hi BB.. Thanks.. never saw this one before.

    A small FYI.. you have your links reversed.
    12 is CD3+CD4 and 34 is CD1+CD2

    No big deal, right. Take care.

  5. Hi mrRadio,
    I didn't know you were interested in UK indie rock/pop. That is a nice surprise.
    I'll fix the links. Thanks for letting me know.


  6. Hi Butterboy, great blog thanks. Is there any chance this fine looking compilation can be re-upped, please?

    1. Hi Sweatybetty4me

      New Links established, tested and working.


  7. Oh WOW !.....many thanks Butterboy for sharing this fantastic collection of Brit Pop......this certainly brings back some great memories and there are a few I have never heard before or just simply forgotten about.....cheers Butterboy.....Love & Peace Stu

    1. Hi Stu.
      Great to see you have access again to the comments section.
      It is a great box set. I am sure it will bring back some memories.