Thursday, May 27, 2021

VA - Soul Of Jamaica, Here Comes The Duke [2018] (2 x CD's)



VA - Soul Of Jamaica, Here Comes The Duke [2018] (2 x CD's)

When Trojan Records was launched in the summer of 1968, the productions of Arthur ‘Duke’ Reid’s Treasure Isle Records dominated Jamaica’s musical landscape, spurring the newly formed London-based company to hastily secure exclusive UK rights to this esteemed catalogue. There followed a series of popular singles and two superb albums that provide the bulk of this 2CD set. Showcasing the talents of some of the giants of the rock steady era, the recordings, all issued during the latter half of 1968, demonstrate just why the Duke is widely regarded as the king of the rock steady sound.  With many of these tracks unavailable for decades, this 52 track collection provides essential listening for fans of Duke Reid’s distinctive Treasure Isle rock steady sound, which remains just as appealing today as it was when first created some 50 years ago! (Amazon)



Track lists


01 Joya Landis Angel of the Morning 3:07

02 Alton Ellis My Willow Tree 2:43

03 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Heatwave 3:17

04 Joya Landis Out the Light 2:16

05 Paragons My Best Girl 2:30

06 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics The World Needs Love 2:11

07 Alton Ellis I Can't Stand It 2:23

08 Phyllis Dillon Long Time 2:27

09 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Ride Mi Donkey 2:29

10 Alton Ellis & Phyllis Dillon Love Letters 2:38

11 Jamaicans Woman Go Home 2:32

12 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Flying Home 2:09

13 Techniques Travelling Man 2:32

14 Soul Tops Good Things 2:29

15 Lloyd Williams Wonderful World 2:25

16 Techniques It's You I Love 2:39

17 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Our Man Flint 3:23

18 Jamaicans Peace and Love 2:41

19 Silvertones Old Man River 2:24

20 Phyllis Dillon I Wear His Ring 2:11

21 Senastions Devoted to You 2:43

22 Soul Tops Keep on Moving 2:53

23 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Mad, Mad, Mad 2:44

24 Silvertones Don't Say No 2:26

25 Alton Ellis I Can't Stop Now 3:21

26 Sensations Bless You 2:56


01 Ken Parker True True True 2:14

02 Techniques Run Come Celebrate 2:16

03 Gladiators Sweet Soul Music 1:58

04 Joya Landis Kansas City 3:05

05 Termites Loev Up, Kiss Up 2:21

06 Soul Lads Funny 3:06

07 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Regay (Lonely Goatherd) 2:15

08 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Second Fiddle 2:24

09 Danny Simpson Mary Poppins 2:46

10 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Soul Remedy 2:10

11 Techniques I'm in the Mood for Love 1:52

12 Soul Lads I'm Yours Forever 2:54

13 John Holt Tonight 2:34

14 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Get Me to the Church on Time 2:37

15 John & Joya I'll Be Lonely 2:09

16 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Soul for Sale 2:37

17 Alton Ellis & the Flames Breaking Up 2:59

18 Phyllis Dillon Love Was All I Had 2:47

19 John Holt & the Paragons Maybe Someday 1:59

20 Tommy McCook & the Supersonics Ode to Billy Joe 3:53

21 Joya Landis Moonlight Lover 2:20

22 Techniques I Wish it Would Rain 2:21

23 Sensations I'll Never Fall in Love - 2:18

24 Phyllis Dillon & Hopeton Lewis Boy and Girls Reggae 2:17

25 Techniques There Comes a Time 2:31

26 Sensations Those Guys 2:22




  1. Cheers BB. Funnily enough I have a lot of treasure Isle Vinyl at home. My better half has been hassling me to 'trim down' my admittedly stupidly extensive collection for ages and pulled out a couple of these saying "What about this, When was the last time you played this?" I have thousands of albums and just cos' I haven't played something in a while doesn't mean I don't know exactly where it is on the shelves should I feel the need to play it. Maybe it's just a bloke thing.
    anyway cheers again.

    1. Hi Bob,
      So happy to hear this set was not only useful but enjoyed.
      Great story thanks for sharing. I also know where every record is including the ones that have not been returned for years...


  2. Thanks for this one Butterboy.

    1. Hi Bob Mac,
      There are some great track to be found here, really enjoyable.