Monday, January 10, 2022

VA - While No One Was Looking, Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records [2014] (2 x CD's)



VA - While No One Was Looking, Toasting 20 Years of Bloodshot Records [2014] (2 x CD's)

2014 marked the 20th Anniversary of Bloodshot Records, a Chicago based label known for releasing indie rock and alt country, who released a compilation album to celebrate the occasion.

Bloodshot knows how to throw a party, and this album proves it. Usually compilations are hit or miss, but this album is a hit. Bloodshot decided to celebrate 20 years by releasing a compilation, but not just a boring best of Bloodshot. Instead they invited artists that are not on the label to cover Bloodshot Records artists. This is a long album, at 38 songs over 2 discs, but there is 20 years of material to cover. All the Bloodshot regulars are represented, The Waco Brothers, Alejandro Escovedo, Ha Ha Tonka, and Ryan Adams to name a few. Some of the artists stick close to the original, and some turn the songs on their heads. My favorite tracks are, "Look The Other Way"- Chris Schiflet (Justin Townes Earle), "The Corner"- Frank Turner (Cory Brannan), "I Came Around"- Possessed By Paul James (Murder By Death), and "Survivor Blues"- Chuck Regan (Cory Brannan). Anyone who is a fan of Bloodshot Records, or any of the artists on the album go out and buy this album. Here is to 20 more years of Bloodshot Records! Cheers boys and thanks for the tunes. (Amazon)



Track lists


01 Blitzen Trapper To Be Young (Is to Be Sad, Is To Be High) 2:49

02 Chris Shiflett Look the Other Way 2:11

03 Samantha Crain Cold Forgiver 3:13

04 Chuck Prophet Dirt 2:32

05 Hiss Golden Messenger Where I Fell 3:27

06 Dave Davidson (of Maps Things I Didn't Say 2:10

07 Ted Leo Dragging My Own Tombstone 4:42

08 Into It. Over It. Deep Red Bells 3:23

09 Split Single My Backyard 2:30

10 Limbeck Sound of Running 3:01

11 Tim Kasher Aspidistra 2:02

12 Shakey Graves Happy Birthday Julie 3:40

13 Ivan & Alyosha My Winding Wheel 3:10

14 Chuck Ragan Survivor Blues 3:46

15 Minus 5 Cherokee Grove 2:50

16 Carolyn Mark Last to Know 3:34

17 Daniel Romano Strange Birds 2:46

18 Charlie Parr Manifold 2:34

19 Reverend Peyton's Big Damn St Nick on the Fourth in a Fervor 3:24

20 Possessed by Paul James I Came Around 5:36


01 Andrew Bird and Nora O'Connor I'll Trade You Money for Wine 3:53

02 Ben Kweller 2.00am 2:48

03 Frank Turner The Corner 4:58

04 Superchunk Come Pick Me Up 4:00

05 Koji East Jefferson 3:10

06 Great Crusades Fake Out Jesus (Live) 3:12

07 Mike Watt Up to My Neck in This 2:42

08 Nicki Bluhm and the Gramblers Oh My Sweet Carolina 4:04

09 Jerry David DeCicca Broken Bottle 3:41

10 Handsome Family 1000 Dollar Car 4:20

11 Warm Soda All Grown Up 2:27

12 James Leg Is That You in the Blue_ 3:14

13 Two Gallants Truck Driver 3:12

14 Diarrhea Planet Dry Land 3:05

15 Kevin Russell All the Time 3:40

16 North Carolina Music Love Stick to the Plan 5:25

17 William Elliott Whitmore I Wish I Was the Moon 2:41

18 Samuel Fogarino (of Interpol) Liked It a Lot 3:50




  1. Possessed by Paul James - Just brilliant stuff.
    ...and what a name for a band!
    His real name is just as good - Konrad Wert


    1. Hi Stephen,
      I like every track on this set, nice placement of tracks.
      Band names can be special. if you look at why they chosen the name they came up with...


    2. Indeed they can............The Beatles!

  2. I love the Bloodshot compilations! Here's a link to a collection of them:

  3. Oops, most of the links are dead.

    1. Thanks for the heads up, Bernie.
      Its a pity the links are mostly dead. Definitely some great material to be had there.
      Hopefully they will be re-uploaded some day. I have a few of the albums i saw so i will put some up from time to time.


    2. About a half dozen of the newest ones are available via direct links to Bandcamp where still available at "Name Your Price" (which includes zero).
      As for the others, he's been updating old links on the site. I've asked if those are on the agenda.

  4. Thanks Butterboy for another interesting comp.

  5. Hi Butterboy! Barkingdog over at Twangsville Revisited has been kind enough to start to re-up the collection of Bloodshot compilations. The first of 3 batches is currently up. He said he's fine with you re-posting here as well.


    1. Thanks Bernie
      That is good news. Thanks to Barkingdog as well.
      I will look to see if I have them soon.
      I noticed previously that there is a Bernie compilation series at the site. Can I assume they are your compilations.


  6. Yes, nothing nearly as comprehensive as what you do, more of a slow crawl through my hard drive lol.

    1. I will download a few and listen this week end. They look really good,
      You are free to send them to the MY COMPILATIONS series each week.
      Here is a link of the subbmission form and guidelines if you decide to share these.