Wednesday, January 26, 2022

VA - Eddie Piller Presents: British Mod Sounds Of The 1960's (4 x CD's)



VA - Eddie Piller Presents: British Mod Sounds Of The 1960's (4 x CD's)

Demon are proud to release "Eddie Piller Presents British Mod Sounds Of the 1960s", the follow up the "The Mod Revival". Featuring 100 original tracks across 4 CD's, it's a deep dive into the Mod scene in 60's Britain. Including a selection of classic and rare tracks, tracing the scene from it's R&B roots to a soulful finale. Curated by Acid Jazz Records and Modcast founder Eddie Piller, and featuring new sleeve notes from respected author and broadcaster Paul 'Smiler' Anderson. As Eddie Piller points out in the forward to the extensive sleeve notes that accompany this collection, he chose the word 'Sounds' carefully, reflecting the variety of talent contained here, from uncool session musicians without an ounce of style in them, acts who saw an opportunity to jump on the Mod bandwagon and bands who whole heartedly embraced Mod way of life. And so this new collection mixes the Mod mainstays (Small Faces, The High Numbers, The Action, The Fleur de Lys), with a generous selection of future superstars (David Bowie, Rod Stewart, Elton John, Marc Bolan, Jeff Beck and Graham Gouldman of 10cc are all represented here), and a few artists so obscure, so rare, that they never got to release a record in the 60's, but Eddie has tracked down the tapes nonetheless. "Be in with the In Crowd once more." Every great youth cult deserves a great soundtrack, and when the 60's Mods adopted classic American R&B, with a side order of hip Jazz, they undoubtedly found the right music for their exuberant and stylish way of life. And yet, buying expensive imports, hoping for a local release or praying for a rare visit from overseas talent was never going to be enough to satisfy British youth with a thirst for the latest sounds. Certainly not those on the dancefloor and definitely not those with their own musical ambitions. It was a music scene that began with imitation, before skill and imagination lead curious minds to innovation, a scene that evolved from average (at best) copies of releases on the Chess, Motown and Stax labels, to become something more sophisticated, something quite unique, something very British. (Amazon)


12     34  


Track lists


01 High Numbers I'm The Face 2:25

02 Bo Street Runners Bo Street Runner 2:11

03 Cyril Davies & His R&B All Stars Country Line Special 2:17

04 Tom Jones Chills & Fever 2:54

05 John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers Crawling Up A Hill 2:15

06 Koobas You Better Make Up Your Mind 2:27

07 John's Children Desdemona 2:24

08 Shyster Tick Tock 2:45

09 Billie Davis Wasn't It You 3:02

10 Hollies Bus Stop 2:55

11 All Night Workers Tell Daddy 2:47

12 Kenny Lynch What Am I To You 2:23

13 Frays My Babe 3:09

14 Shots Keep A Hold Of What You Got Now Baby 2:17

15 Mike Stevens & The Shevelles The Go-Go Train 3:23

16 P.P. Arnold (If You Think You're) Groovy 2:55

17 Dusty Springfield Little By Little 2:34

18 Poets Wooden Spoon 2:26

19 Muleskinners Back Door Man 3:48

20 Jimmy Winston & His Reflections Sorry She's Mine 3:00

21 Rod Stewart Good Morning Little Schoolgirl 2:10

22 Yardbirds Over Under Sideways Down 2:23

23 Bluesology Come Back Baby 2:48

24 James Royal A Little Bit Of Rain 2:03

25 Rocking Vicars It’s Alright 2:15


01 Fleur De Lys Circles 3:02

02 David Bowie Can't Help Thinking About Me 2:45

03 Georgie Fame Sweet Thing 2:35

04 Small Faces Don't Burst My Bubble 2:24

05 Tony & Tandy Two Can Make it Together 3:11

06 Jimmy James & the Vagabonds Ain't No Big Thing 2:40

07 Episode Six Put Yourself in My Place 2:32

08 Geno Washington & the Ram Jam Band Michael (The Lover) 2:25

09 Dog Soul Big Bird 3:09

10 Organisers (Feat. Harold Smart) The Organiser 2:01

11 Rod Stewart & P.P. Arnold Come Home Baby 3:00

12 Wynder K. Frog Henry's Panter 3:14

13 Alan Bown Set Emergency 999 2:29

14 Soul Agents The Seventh Son 2:40

15 Timebox Soul Sauce 2:58

16 Harold McNair The Hipster 4:41

17 Spencer Davis Group High Time Baby 2:41

18 Zombies Gotta Get a Hold of Myself 2:29

19 Manfred Mann Don't Ask Me What I Say 2:56

20 Top Six I'm a Man 2:25

21 Love Affair Everlasting Love 3:03

22 Madeline Bell Picture Me Gone 2:56

23 Cliff Bennett & the Rebel Rousers Good Times 3:03

24 Beazers Blue Beat 2:28

25 Penny Blacks I'm Coming Home to You 2:43


01 Syndicats Crawdaddy Simone 3:09

02 Attack Magic in the Air 3:38

03 Kinks She's Got Everything 3:11

04 Clique Ooh Poo Pah Doo 2:39

05 Truth Who's Wrong 3:09

06 Artwoods I Take What I Want 2:49

07 Creation Making Time 2:58

08 Sorrows Take a Heart 3:16

09 Meddyevils Ma's Place 2:17

10 Birds How Can it Be 2:56

11 Eyes I've Rowed Out 2:57

12 Sneekers Bald Headed Woman 2:29

13 Untamed My Baby is Gone 2:25

14 Quik Bert's Apple Crumble 2:13

15 Move You're the One I Need 2:02

16 Mark Four I'm Leaving 3:31

17 Gods Garage Man 2:30

18 Les Fleur De Lys I Like What I'm Trying to Do 2:17

19 Nocturnes Hay, That's What Horses Eat 3:45

20 Mojos Everything's Alright 2:21

21 Wards of Court How Could You Say One Thing 1:56

22 Platform Six Money Will Not Mean a Thing 2:21

23 Silence Down Down 2:59

24 Apostolic Intervention Madame Garcia 2:52

25 Deejays Black-Eyed Woman 2:38


01 Action Never Ever 2:22

02 Carnaby Jump and Dance 2:37

03 Riot Squad Anytime 2:43

04 Spectres (We Ain't Got) Nothing Yet 2:17

05 Mike Cotton Sound Soul Serenade 2:39

06 Sharon Tandy Hold On 3:43

07 Quiet Melon Early Roller Engine 4444 2:52

08 Ossie Layne Show Midnight Hour 2:43

09 Dave & the Diamonds Think About Love 2:46

10 Fearns Brass Foundry Don't Change It 2:13

11 Simon Dupree and the Big Sound Reservations 2:31

12 Habits Elbow Baby 2:35

13 Maxine A Love I Belive In 2:17

14 Blue Rondos Baby I Go for You 2:10

15 Mindbenders The Morning After 2:18

16 Shapes of Things Striving 2:38

17 Wainwright's Gentlemen Ain't That Just Like Me 2:44

18 Richard Kent Style I'm Out 1:49

19 Sean Buckley & the Breadcrumbs No Matter How You Slice It 2:26

20 Afex She's Got the Time 2:27

21 Syd's Crowd Times Are Good Babe 2:54

22 Tony Colton Further on Down the Track 2:36

23 Troop You'll Call My Name 2:35

24 Razor It's a Hard Way But It's My Way 2:34

25 Dave Anthony's Moods New Directions 2:42




  1. Just brilliant

    How about "Power Pop"...LOTS!?


    1. Hi Stephen,
      Yes, this is a great set, Enjoy!
      Lets look at Power pop at some stage.


  2. Many thanks for this collection some great listening here with a few of the rarer artists

    1. I love this box, Canny Lad.
      It deserves a number of listens.


  3. Cor, let's grab them French Blues, hop on the Vespa and head down to The Marquee! After Ready Steady Go, of course.

    1. Hi harry the dog,
      You made me smile... Thank you.


  4. Thanks Butterboy, some nice rarities here

  5. Replies
    1. Thanks bluero54


  6. Excellent , didn't think this was out until the 4th of Feb , I have it on order so I'm supporting the artists , but this will do in the meantime, cracking compilation by Eddie

    1. Thanks Moderator.
      I had this given to me in last December.
      There are some great compilations by Eddie. Hope to post more in the future.


  7. Many thanks for this great collection with some rare tracks I don't have!