Monday, January 31, 2022

VA - Memphis 60 Soul, R&B And Proto Funk From Soul City USA [2009]


VA - Memphis 60 Soul, R&B And Proto Funk From Soul City USA [2009]

Yet another fantastic collection of obscure soul tunes, compiled by Dean Rudland for the BGP label.

Of the more obscure recordings from around the city we bring you LH and the Memphis sounds, whose wonderful Packy Axton related 45 is a £200 northern collectable. Our Queen of Memphis Barbara Brown is present and correct as is a previously unreleased R&B shouter called 'Shake, Shake, Shake' recorded by Willie Bollinger for her label, XL. There is a good mixture of original material and cool covers (soulful remakes of the Beatles' "Ticket To Ride", the Sir Douglas Quintet's "She's About a Mover", and Lowell Fulsom's "Tramp" (performed here by young Junior Kimball, who later gained renown in blues circles as Junior Kimbrough). There is also an early Isaac Hayes track (recording as Sir Isaac & the Do-Dads) and a wicked instrumental by the Cobras, a 1964 track with Steve Cropper and his mighty guitar.  But the goodies don't stop there. We are also treated to more fine soul by the likes of Willie Bollinger, Prince Conley, Barbara & the Browns, the Dixie Nightingales, Eddie Purrell, and much more. Honestly, this is astonishingly great soul music. (Amazon)



Track lists

01 Eddie Kirk The Hawg Pt 1 2:51

02 Eddie Purrell The Spoiler 2:46

03 Willie Walker I Won't Cheat on You No More 2:31

04 L.H. and the Memphis Sounds Double Up 2:06

05 Dixie Nightingales I Don't Know 2:57

06 Willie Cobbs She's Fine She's Mine (You Don't Love Me) 2:48

07 Prince Conley I'm Going Home 2:50

08 Unknown Let the Best Man Win 2:35

09 Junior Kimbell Tram? 3:41

10 Sir Isaac & the Do-Dads Blue Groove 2:34

11 Dixie Nightingales Assassination 3:40

12 Ruby Johnson When My Love Comes Down (Alt) 2:38

13 Barbara Brown Man About the House 2:51

14 Willie Walker Ticket to Ride 2:33

15 Willie Bollinger Shake Shake Shake 2:55

16 Spencer Wiggins Soul City Usa 2:03

17 Percy Millem She's About a Mover 2:20

18 Cobras Restless 2:25

19 Ann Hodge Nothing But the Truth 2:29

20 Lyrics With the Top Notes The Side Wind 2:22